The One That Got Away

An art work by M!kE (https://www.flickr.com/photos/mikeisalwaysdepressed/4096905343/)

By M!kE (click the image to visit gallery)


‘The One That Got Away’

You are the one that got away,
Because I never say hi.
I looked and, like a fool, I waited,
Telling myself that it wasn’t the time.

You are the one that got away,
Because I wallowed in self-doubt,
Too young, too uncertain, to realize
That this wasn’t what it was about.

When a soul touches a soul,
The bodies could be left behind,
The burdens could be left behind,
And it could have been just you and I

…for a moment in time

You are the one that got away
Because your voice was silenced.
Only then did I realize
That my chance was taken.

You are the one that got away
Because there is no more next time
Never thank you’s, sorry’s, or good bye’s.
And all I wanted was to say hi.

This poetry is prompted by an art assignment of the same name (click here for the video and find out how to contribute to an art project). It didn’t open a can of worm so much as a bout of emotions that I haven’t experienced for sometime. And the way I deal with emotions is either to cry or to write poetry.

In this case, I did both.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

